Passing A Stopped School Bus

When a school bus stops to let a child on or off the bus, the driver signals that the bus is about to stop with yellow lights. Once the driver comes to a halt, the lights begin flashing red, and a stop sign is extended from the side of the bus. These signals mean that all motorists who are sharing the road with the bus must come to a complete stop until the driver of the bus withdraws the flashing lights and stop sign.

 

Failure to stop when a school bus is stopped can result in significant penalties. If you are ticketed for this offense, you face heavy fines and even a possible jail time and suspension of your license, depending on how many times you have been ticketed for this same offense.

 

First School Bus Violation

Up to $400 fine

Up to 30 days in jail

 

Second School Bus Violation Within 3 Years

Up to $750 fine

Up to 180 days in jail


Third & Subsequent Bus Violations Within 3 Years

Up to $1000 fine

Up to 180 days in jail

 

At the Law Office Of Terri B. Kalker, we take school bus violation tickets seriously. It is our job to protect you from the penalties of such a ticket, and when you consult with us, we will work hard to keep your driving record clean and keep you out of jail.

 

Don’t let a school bus violation land you behind bars. Contact our office today to schedule a consultation.

 

(718) 793-1900

 

Note: Recent changes to the New York State Vehicle & Traffic Law makes it mandatory for motorists who are found guilty of certain traffic violations to pay an assessment to the Department of Motor Vehicles. This is called the Driver Responsibility Program and it applies to drivers who operate any kind of motor vehicle in New York State. This applies to New York drivers, regardless of the state the driver is actually licensed in.
Free case Consultation





captcha